The Opposite of a Rabbit’s Foot; Leavin’

troy cycle upi.jpgWhatever the opposite of a rabbit’s foot is, I am that for the Colorado Rockies. I find it quite unfortunate that each time I open MLB.tv to watch the Rockies game, I worry that they will lose simply because I’ve tuned in.

It’s even more unfortunate because within a week and a half, we’ll be living within miles of each other.

Yes, my friends, I’m leaving for college on August 18th, a mere seven days away. But before I get into that, let’s deal with what happened last night.

I might need therapy to recover from the fact that last night, while I watched the season premiere of Monk and an episode of Warehouse 13, my Troy was pushing for a cycle. And I hate myself for having to watch SportsCenter to see it.

It’s a double-edged sword. If I watch the game, I ditch my parents for the evening and we’ve only really got one week left. If I don’t watch the game, I have the potential to miss very important moments like this one, among others. And I miss that more of their playoff push. On the flip side, I’ll shortly be in CO and I’ll be able to watch whenever I want then, without paying an exorbitant $20/month to watch one game every few nights. So at least there’s that.

In any case, Troy hit for the cycle. Watching it on SportsCenter I had to question how much of it was him and how much was the Cubs’ awful defense. Yes, he ran hard on every ball he hit, and if he hadn’t on the triple he never would have made it. His good baserunning put pressure on the defense, and maybe that’s why Alfonso Soriano made a horrible throw. If Alfonso had made that throw, however, Troy probably would have been out.

The nice thing is, we’ll never know. It’ll go down on record as a cycle, and that’s that. Baseball is like that. Doesn’t matter what could have been, what would have been if this thing happened instead of that other thing. Trust me, I’d know. I spent hours watching September 2007 happen and then trying to understand how October came to a close like it did. No way to know. The end.

In any case, Troy, I’m very proud of you. All of us are.

In other news…

I went to my final home Astros game on Friday against the Brewers. Bud Norris pitched a pretty damn good game, Jason Michaels hit two homers, and the Astros poured the Beermakers down the drain.

The Saturday before that, I went to my first and probably last game at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington. I wanted a Salty shirt, but there weren’t any. So then I looked for a Kinsley shirt, and all they had were XLs. So I have a Kinsley shirt that is way too big on me. But I LOVE IT ♥ And then the Rangers lost. But I had so much fun.

I’m leaving on August 18th for my looooong journey northwest. There are five teams on the way up (Fort Worth Cats, Grand Prairie AirHogs, Frisco RoughRiders, Amarillo Dillas, and Colorado Springs SkySox) and NOT ONE of them is home during my drive. Come on, baseball gods, is this some sort of strange punishment for not watching so many Rockies games?

However, despite the animosity shown me by the minor and independent teams, the Colorado Rockies are coming back home on August the 21st, and guess who’s going to be there? I AM! And I think I’ll even make it in time for BP! To top it off, I might be able to make the gameo n the 24th, and guess who’s going to be there? ZACK HAMPLE! So really, it could be the most perfect week of my life if everything comes together correctly.

And then I’m trying to get people together to go to a game on either September 5th or 6th for my belated birthday (August 30). I want to do BP, but at the same time if I have to take the bus I am NOT taking it alone at night. No way, no how. So it might end up being the Sunday game. I really won’t know until I figure things out.

I’ve actually kind of started to pack. It’s weird. I still need to buy a coffeepot, though.

Pointless Ramblings:

– I surprisingly don’t really have any. Yay?

♥

19 comments

  1. Kylie

    Thank you thank you! I actually hadn’t watched it last night, but I loved Eddie McClintock in Bones and Allison Scagliotti, who wasn’t in the episode I saw, is one of my favorite actresses ♥

  2. redsoxmelissa

    I think at some point, we all feel we’re our team’s bad luck charm, but we’re really not…we have to snap back into reality and realize that we have no control over how our beloved baseball players play.

    I would by a shirt too big for me too if it was my favorite player…any Ellsbury shirt I would buy. 🙂

    –Melissa
    http://redsox46.mlblogs.com/

  3. Kylie

    So true, so true. Like blaming myself for the Rockies’ WS flop because I took my Miraculous Medal off to go swimming and forgetting to put it back on because it was easier than saying eight days was too much time between games.
    The Tulo shirt I’m wearing now is a large. I have no waist in it but it’s Troy so it wins ♥

  4. teemo

    Aloha – stumbled across your blog about a month ago and have been enjoying it ever since. Hope you have a good safe trip to Colorado and congratulations on your Troy having an awesome game last night – We will continue to look forward to your entries from here in Hawaii – Todd

  5. crazy19canuck

    Kylie – Have a great trip to CO! College life awaits and so do your Rox. Good to hear the Troy did really well! That’s always good news. 🙂 Maybe you’ll find a lucky charm in CO to make the bad luck disappear?
    Ginny
    http://watercooler.mlblogs.com

  6. Kylie

    Todd: WOW, thank you! I’m so honored to have a reader from so far away! I hope you enjoy my future entries, and thanks again for reading 🙂
    Ginny: thanks! It sure is. I’m hoping that my physical presence will be enough, but we’ll see ♥

  7. raysrenegade

    Every fan is good luck for a team.
    If it wasn’t for people like you and me, they would play every game on TV to an empty stadium.
    Got to remember, half the fun of going to a game is top scream and yell and have fun.
    No bad luck involved in that.

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

  8. matttan7

    Nice way to put your experiences, well at least you got to see your favorite player, Troy hitting for the cycle in replays, even though you’d prefer to see that happen live. I bet you’re having fun in Houston watching those Astros. Good luck and best wishes in getting your degree!

    Matthew Tang
    http://matt7.mlblogs.com/

  9. redstatebluestate

    GET… COFFEE POT… NOW. Can’t (wouldn’t) live without mine. It may be the single most important item I own (next to a CTA Card). I feel ya on the bad luck thing… I’ve finally told the Cardinals to just get over my influence — good or bad — and deal with the fact that I’m gonna watch no matter what… unless they do poorly. Zing! In other news, if his recent performance is any sign… I still hope Tulo got to see your letter. Still a standout piece in my opinion.
    –Jeff
    http://redstatebluestate.mlblogs.com/
    http://mtrredstatebluestate.com

  10. Kylie

    RaysRenegade: SO TRUE. I love screaming at games, especially as an away fan (14 away Rox games, ne’er a home game). Except when I got popcorn thrown at me in San Diego.
    Matthew: thanks! I really would have, but better late than never! I was having fun watching the Astros until these last few games where they’ve eaten dirt and gotten their butts kicked.
    Jeff: See, and I don’t really drink coffee, but I figure I can use it to make hot water for tea, and I’m sure at some point I’ll start drinking the strong stuff. Telling them to get over it… I like that plan. I will announce my intentions to the computer next time I watch a game. I hope so too, and thank you so much. Means a lot coming from Mr. #1 Blogger of 2008. ♥

  11. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    Have fun in college! Good luck to you during the school year. Congrats to Tulo on his cycle, although it is true that the triple came on an error, he worked hard and played well.
    Too bad about all the minor league teams being away, what an awful coincidence. Anyways, hope your week goes as well as planned!

    http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  12. raysfanboy

    I envy you heading off to college. Best time of my life. That and Game 7 of last year’s ALCS. You know…

    Your guy Tulo got that cycle against my Cubbies. Ugh. Your description of the Cubs’ awful defense is right on. Soriano is terrible.
    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com/

  13. heartruss

    Hi Kylie, I did not write in response to your last post to offend you. It was directed more to the stalkers that stalk the players. It happens more than you know and it spoils it for the rest of us who are there to enjoy the games and sometimes even interact with the players before the games and during special appearances. I respect everyones privacy, not just players. I actually even have someone stalking me at games which is creepy. I can see it from the other end since I have been close enough to the players to see their expressions and hear what they say. As I have said before, I apologize if I offended you. That was not why I wrote what I did. When I am at the games, I advise people around me what to do to get the autographs so they will have more of an opportunity to get what they want. There are speciifc places to stand, times that they will sign. I can almost pinpoint the exact time the Dodgers will sign. Through experience (I probably have almost every Dodger’s autograph on the team this season) I know what to do and what not to do. I have never yelled or called out to the players while they are busy working out. It just doesn’t work. Just stand there and wait. If they want to sign they will sign.
    Again, sorry Kylie.

  14. heartruss

    I have been to the stadium at Arlington TX. It really is a nice ballpark.
    Your Rockies are the team to beat in the Western Division. They are more scary than the Giants.

  15. mattpeas

    im heading back to college here too on the 19th. its greta to be away on your own and experience new and exciting things that come in life. something else not so exciting is this rockies-pirates series. tulo has been hitting all over us.

    http://pittpeas.mlblogs.com

  16. Kylie

    Bleacher Creature: thank you! So far, all is good!
    Raysfanboywithsecretfirstname: I like hearing that. And yes, just like Jesus, I hate the Cubs 🙂
    Cat: no no no, don’t worry. You didn’t offend me! It takes serious effort to do that! I totally get what you’re saying and yes, I’ve seen those girls. And Arlington is totally the bomb. And go Rockies!
    Matt: I love hearing these positive college comments. And anything involving Tulo hitting, I adore ♥

  17. Kylie

    Don’t be confused 🙂 I move in tomorrow. I approve of any scenario with my boys in the playoffs. The shows were TiVoed, but I can’t TiVo my parents ♥

  18. devilabrit

    I am so confused… you must be back at college by now (I think)… considering the Dodgers had what some called a guarenteed division win, your guys have reeled them in pretty good, keep it up and they could be the ones fighting in the Wild Card spot….
    dvr or tivo the shows watch the games….
    ~peter
    Outside the Phillies Looking In
    http://devilabrit.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

